Prof. Julia Stingl (formerly Kirchheiner) University of Ulm, Germany

3 Talks

Julia C Stingl (formerly Kirchheiner) got her M.D. degree from the J W Goethe University of Frankfurt, Germany. After residency training in Psychiatry at the Free University Berlin, Germany, she was a Postdoctoral Fellow in Clinical Pharmacology at the Charité University Medicine in Berlin, Germany. In 2006, Julia Stingl was... read morerecruited as Full Professor of Clinical Pharmacology to the University of Ulm where she established her own research group and pharmacogenetics lab and a small clinical trial unit. Since May 2012 she joined the University Bonn Medical Faculty as full professor and became director of the research division of the Federal Institute of Drugs and Medical Devices.
Her research mostly focuses on individualized drug treatment optimized by pharmacogenetic diagnostics. She developed dose adjustments for antidepressant and antipsychotic drugs based upon differences in drug clearances caused by pharmacogenetic polymorphisms promoting the way of pharmacogenetics from bench to bedside. She explored genetic influences on drug response in the field of depression but also worked on characterization of the physiological role of genetic polymorphisms in cytochrome P450 enzymes such as the brain expressed CYP2D6. She integrated new methods into pharmacogenetic research such as brain imaging techniques for visualization of individual drug effects and pharmacogenetic modulation. She has more than 140 publications in peer-reviewed scientific journals, has been cited 2976 times with an average citation of 19 per article and an H-index of 36 (ISI web of science, September 2013).
Julia C Stingl served on the Task Force Committee of the ASCPT 2009-2010, the ASCPT scientific award Nomination Committee from 2010-2011. She is a member of the Faculty of 1000, a steering committee member for the European Pharmacogenomics Network, and an editorial board member for several top-tier Pharmacology journals. She has been the recipient of several awards, the Presidential trainee Award of the ASCPT in 2003, the Utrecht Award for Excellence in Pharmaceutical Research in 2009, and the ASCPT Leon Goldberg Young Investigator Award in 2010.