Prof. John Petrie University of Glasgow, UK

1 Talk

John Petrie is Professor of Diabetic Medicine at the University of Glasgow and Honorary Consultant Physician/ Diabetologist at Glasgow Royal Infirmary. His research aims to understand the mechanisms of vascular disease in types 1 and 2 diabetes and thereby to develop better treatments to prevent complications. His work includes metabolic... read moreand vascular clinical investigation, larger scale cohort studies, biomarker discovery/validation, and clinical trials. He is Chief Investigator of the REMOVAL trial ( funded by the US Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. REMOVAL is on track for completion in 2017 and is testing the cardiovascular effects of metformin in type 1 diabetes over three years in 500 patients in the UK, Denmark, Holland, Canada, and Australia.

Prof Petrie is UK lead for two ongoing GLP-1 cardiovascular outcome trials in type 2 diabetes: LEADER (liraglutide) and the recently-completed ELIXA study (lixisenatide). He has chaired/ coordinated cardiovascular endpoint committees for several major international trials including ROADMAP, EMERGE and currently ENTRACTE. He has served on and/or chaired a number of international grant-awarding panels/ advisory committees for the Academy of Finland, Diabetes UK, the European Foundation for the Study of Diabetes (EFSD), the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF), the NHMRC (Australia) and the NIH (NIDDK-NHLBI). He led the initiation and development of the successful Scottish Diabetes Research Network (SDRN) from 2006-2009 and in this capacity was responsible for the current Scottish glucose-lowering therapy guidelines (SIGN 116).

Prof Petrie served as Associate Editor of the journal of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD) journal Diabetologia (2010-2014). He is immediate past President of the European Group for the study of Insulin Resistance (2010-2015) and a current member of the American Diabetes Association/ European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD/ADA) Technology Committee (since 2013).