Upcoming Live Webinar

Innate immunity, inflammation and cancer: from bench to bedside

Tuesday April 23, 2024
9:00 AM PDT / 12:00 PM EDT / 5:00 PM BST / 6:00 PM CEST

The innate immune system includes a cellular and a humoral arm. Tumor-associated macrophages (TAM) have served as a paradigm for the importance of the tumor microenvironment in tumor progression. Single cell analysis and spatial transcriptomics have provided new vistas on the complexity and function of TAM. Moreover, myeloid cells are a source of fluid phase pattern recognition molecules (ante-antibodies) and, in turn, humoral innate immunity shapes recruitment and function of these cells. TAM engage in complex bidirectional interactions with innate and adaptive lymphoid cells and stroma. Moreover, they play an important role in response and resistance to current immunotherapy approaches.

In this webinar Prof. Mantovani will discuss how myeloid cells represent tools and targets for innovative therapeutic approaches, complementing current strategies.

Speaker

Prof. Alberto Mantovani
IRCCS Istituto Clinico Humanitas, Humanitas University, Italy

Alberto Mantovani, MD, is Emeritus Professor of Pathology at the Humanitas University in Milan, Scientific Director of the Istituto Clinico Humanitas and Chair of Inflammation and Therapeutic Innovation, William Harvey Research Institute, Queen Mary University, London, UK. His attention has been focused on molecular mechanisms of innate immunity and inflammation and on the role in the tumor microenvironment and cancer progression of tumor-associated macrophages (TAM). He has contributed to the advancement of knowledge in the field of Immunology formulating new paradigms and identifying new molecules and functions. More recently, he focused on COVID-19, contributing to the identification of genetic associations and of a novel severity biomarker. For his research activity, he has received several national and international awards, such as the Triennial OECI Award from the Organization of the European Cancer Institutes, the Robert Koch Award for his contribution to tumor immunology and immunotherapy, the American-Italian Cancer Foundation (AICF) Prize for Excellence in Medicine, the American Association for Cancer Research International Pezcoller Award for Extraordinary Achievement in Cancer Research and, most recently, the CIMT Lifetime Achievement Award. The broad impact of his contributions is testified by citations. As of February 2024, he has over 171,000 citations and an H-index of 188 (Scopus).