Upcoming Live Webinar

Extracellular vesicles in immunopathology: the examples of infectious diseases

Tuesday February 7, 2023
2:00 AM PST / 5:00 AM EST / 10:00 AM GMT / 11:00 AM CET

Infectious diseases often involve immunopathological complications and sometimes these inappropriate immune responses cause more harm than the pathogen itself. Extracellular vesicles (EV) are now acknowledged as major players in cell-cell communication and, thereby, in homeostasis and pathophysiology. While they have been described originally in the nineteen-sixties, it is only recently that they have been examined from the angle of disease pathogenesis. The release of EV is an integral part of any immune response. As such, overproduction of EV from all immune cell types, including endothelial cells and platelets, has been documented in numerous infectious diseases. The participation of EV in immune-mediated complications has been demonstrated in experimental models, including cerebral malaria, tuberculosis, sepsis or West-Nile virus infection.

In this webinar, we will, first, define the various EV subtypes and focus on our current understanding of the heterogeneity of microvesicles and exosomes; second, we will discuss the properties that enable EV to act as mediators of immunopathology in some bacterial, parasitic and viral infections.

Speaker

Prof. Georges Grau
The University of Sydney, Australia

Professor Georges Grau, MD (University of Liège) and Privat-Docent (University of Genève), is the Chair of Vascular Immunology at the University of Sydney since 2006. His research in immunopathological mechanisms of infectious diseases focuses on cytokines and the microvascular endothelium. With his team at the Vascular Immunology Unit, he studied numerous aspects of extracellular vesicles, particularly microvesicles and exosomes, and showed their role as crucial effectors in cytokine-mediated inflammatory pathologies and in cancer biology. His 393 papers have been cited over 37,000 times and his h-index is 100. From 2015 to 2021 he served as Discipline Leader (Pathology), Marie Bashir Institute, is a Member of Sydney Analytical Advisory Committee and Chair of the Vibrational Spectroscopy Committee, since 2020. In 2021 he was re-elected President of the Australian-New Zealand Microcirculation Society (ANZMS).