Prof. Paul G. Richardson Harvard Medical School, USA

2 Talks

Paul Richardson is the RJ Corman Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, Clinical Program Leader and Director of Clinical Research of the Jerome Lipper Multiple Myeloma Center, Dana-Faber Cancer Institute. Dr. Richardson obtained his medical degree from St. Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical College, University of London before completing residencies at... read moreNewcastle University, the Royal Marsden Hospital and Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. His fellowships in haematology/oncology and medical oncology were completed at Tufts University School of Medicine and Harvard Medical School.

Paul’s primary research interest is in novel therapies for myeloma, including bortezomib, lenalidomide and pomalidomide, and most recently in the development and approval of panobinostat, elotuzumab, daratumumab and ixazomib, as well as the use of combination therapies in the treatment of this disease, particularly in the relapsed and refractory setting. He is serving as Principal/Co-Principal Investigator and Study Chair for several pivotal trials, including the landmark international Intergroupe Francophone du Myélome/DFCI 2009 study for newly diagnosed patients eligible for stem cell transplantation (SCT), using the combination of lenalidomide, bortezomib and dexamethasone (RVD), which has provided the basis for better understanding the role of SCT in the era of novel agents.

Dr. Richardson was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians (UK) for his contributions in hematology (2009), and was Chair of the Multiple Myeloma Research Consortium (USA) Clinical Trials Core for five years from 2004, currently serving on its Steering Committee and Project Review Committee. He is also Chair of the Alliance Myeloma Committee (USA) and has served in this role since 2011. He is a former editorial board member of the Journal of Clinical Oncology and The Oncologist, and currently serves as associate editor for the British Journal of Haematology, having himself authored or co-authored over 580 peer-reviewed original articles, reviews and chapters. Among numerous awards and prizes, some of the most notable include the Warren Alpert Prize in Medicine (Harvard Medical School) 2012, the Ernest Beutler Prize (the American Society of Hematology) 2015, and the COMY International Award for Contributions in Myeloma 2016.

In 2017, he was awarded the prestigious Robert Kyle Life Time Achievement Award by the IMF for his contributions to myeloma research, advances in treatment and patient care.