Upcoming Live Webinar

Brain tumor immunotherapy: delivery, specificity, and heterogeneity

Wednesday March 15, 2023
9:00 AM PDT / 12:00 PM EDT / 4:00 PM GMT / 5:00 PM CET

More details will be added soon.

Speaker

Prof. John Howard Sampson
Duke University, USA

John H. Sampson, MD, PhD, MHSc, MBA, is the Robert H. and Gloria Wilkins Distinguished Professor of Neurosurgery, President of the Private Diagnostic Clinic (PDC), the physician practice of Duke Health, and inaugural Chair of Duke Neurosurgery. He is a recognized leader in the surgical resection and experimental treatment of complex brain tumors. Dr. Sampson currently focuses his clinical practice on treating patients with benign and malignant brain tumors and divides his time between his clinical practice and an active research laboratory investigating new modalities of direct brain tumor infusion and immunotherapy.

After earning his medical degree from the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg, Dr. Sampson went on to pursue his PhD in neuropathology and MHSc in clinical research at Duke University. He did his research training under the internationally renowned scientist, Darell D. Bigner, MD, PhD, and Nobel Laureate Gertrude Elion. Recognizing the need for additional health sector management and leadership training, he completed an MBA at Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business.
He has authored more than 280 peer-reviewed publications documenting the development of multiple immunotherapeutic agents that have affected the standard of care in glioblastoma multiforme, the most malignant form of brain cancer. He has remained continuously funded by the National Institutes of Health since 2000. Dr. Sampson is a member of the prestigious National Academy of Medicine as well as the Association of American Physicians.