Prof. Naoto T. Ueno The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, USA

1 Talk

Dr. Ueno is a tenured Professor of Medicine at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. His research is in the area of inflammatory breast cancer (IBC)/triple negative breast cancer (TNBC) and the molecular mechanism of metastasis and tumorigenicity in breast cancer. He is best known for his various... read morepreclinical development and biomarkers which led to novel clinical trials related to breast cancer. He is the Executive Director of the Morgan Welch Inflammatory Breast Cancer Program and Clinic and Section Chief of the Translational Breast Cancer Research at Department of Breast Medical Oncology.

The projects in his laboratory include elucidating the role and the underlying mechanism of several signalling pathways, including epidermal growth factor receptor, transforming growth factor beta (TBF- beta), c-Jun N-terminal kinase (JNK), and Axl receptor tyrosine kinase, in promoting the progression of TNBC and IBC. His research also focuses on determining the impact of the tumour microenvironment on the efficacy of targeted therapy and establishing novel therapeutic approaches by modulating the tumour microenvironment. His significant current extramural funding is R01, R21, CPRIT, and BCRF. He has more than six ongoing investigator-initiated clinical trials for patients with IBC and TNBC.

Outside of MD Anderson and the GSBS, Dr. Ueno has had extensive experience in directly supervising trainees in the Japanese TeamOncology Program and Clinical Skill Advancement Workshop. Currently, he is a mentor for 100 participants in the program. He also directly supervises numerous medical students, graduate students, and clinical residents and fellows other than those at MD Anderson and The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Science.

Dr. Ueno received The University of Texas System Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award for his mentoring contributions in 2014, and has received the Nylene Eckles Distinguished Professorship of Breast Cancer Research in 2012.